The Army Rugby Union (ARU) was formed in 1906 and has continued for over a hundred years to provide an infrastructure for the playing of rugby union within the British Army. Its aim is to promote and foster the game of Rugby Union within the Army and its local communities in accordance with the Laws of the Game promulgated by the Rugby Football Union (RFU).

The ARU is a Registered Charity (Number 245517) and its day-to-day administration is conducted by a small secretariat based at Aldershot. There are several committees responsible for the various aspects of the management of Army Rugby. The ARU is part of the Army Sport Control Board (ASCB).

We encourage membership of the ARU under the Individual Membership Scheme (IMS).



PositionNameContact Details
ChairmanMajor General JMJ Bennett CBE (Jez)
Operations OfficerMr C Fowke (Chris)
Director of FinanceMr S Bates (Steve)
Director of Community RugbyColonel JP Cook OBE (James)
Director of Academy RugbyLieutenant Colonel JA Kennedy (Jason)
Director of MarketingBrigadier (Retd) PJ Allison (Paddy)
Director Women's RugbyMajor C Maxwell (Charlie)
Director Masters RugbyLieutenant Colonel M Beynon MBE (Mark)
RFU Council MemberColonel JP Cook OBE (James)
Director of Senior RugbyColonel AJ Fitzpatrick MBE (Sandy)
Chairman Discipline/GovernanceMajor R Rattenbury (Ratts)
Non Executive DirectorMs BSW Hobday (Brenda)
Non Executive DirectorMr A Leach (Andy)
Non Executive DirectorColonel D Rutherford (David)
Co-opted Members in attendance as deemed necessary by the Management Board
Army Head CoachMajor W Burnard MBE (Burnie)